Gratitude 27July17 Money and a Fool

Que the O’Jays song “Money, Money, Money”

ScroogeCountingMoneyOne of my favorite people on Facebook started a fascinating discussion about money earlier this week. It was interesting to read what people wrote. Some wanted millions, some enough to be content, and there was the few who believed money is the root of all evil.

I have never been one who believed all that glitters is gold.

It’s not the money itself. You are who you are. Money just makes you more of that person. If you are a kind person, chances are you will do good with a lot of money. If you are an asshole, you’ll probably just be a bigger one with money.

I see my money as a life force. I live on a fixed income and because of that, I respect what I do have and treat it accordingly. I place value on quality of life in terms of what I can afford.

I use a Feng Shui philosophy when it comes to my purse and wallet. That is based on the following belief of doing different techniques to attract money into your life.

Take care of your purse or wallet. Keep it in good repair. Red wallets attract money. Get rid of receipts or trash in your purse or wallet that no longer serve a purpose. Keep clutter such as old business cards out your wallet. Don’t carry more than one or two credit cards at a time They represent money leaving and debt. They don’t believe in personal pictures of a family being in wallets. Personal and business shouldn’t blend.

If you would go into my wallet right now, you would find all of my bills organized by denomination facing the same way. I am weird that way. I am the one when a cashier hands me a crumpled up or old bill, will ask “Do you have a nicer one?”

I believe because money is a gateway between a person’s creation, skill, and hard work it should be treated with respect. That money is then the bartering tool for another’s creation, skill, and hard work in some capacity.

As much as possible I am a cash person. I keep what I can afford a week in cash in my wallet. As I make purchases, with my money in order, it is easy to see what I have left. It is my reality check.

I am often a needs vs. wants money person. My use of money is based on those two variables. Very straight forward. Is it something I need? Is it something I want?

My weakness is Target, who knows all of my secrets through my RedCard in exchange for that 5% off and my Cartwheel discount.

Today I am thankful

  • It is always kind of crazy when I wake up in the middle of the night to write.
  • I am thankful for my financial well-being.
  • My time with my bestie last night. One of my very favorite things to do is sitting in her kitchen while she does her magic and cooks.

It doesn’t matter how much money you have, it’s what you do with the money you have.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

