Gratitude 26July17 Adding to Beauty

broken in japan

 

The Japanese have a fascinating centuries old tradition on broken items.

They don’t see broken as trash, nor do they try to fix them in such a way that hides the repair.

The Japanese art of Kintsugi is the philosophy of restoring something to a state more beautiful than what it originally was.

This is done with the use of fine metals, often gold. silver and platinum. The pieces are then coated with lacquer.

The results are quite stunning and have become an art.

I have a few items in my home that I have a sentiment connection to that show the battle scars of repairs over the years. They have been fixed with super glue, not gold. However, the stories of their survival over the years just adds to their charm of memories.

Today I am thankful

  • I saw Girls Trip last night and it is funny. I will definitely see it again with a friend.
  • I am looking forward to time with my grandson.
  • Thinking of all that I have to be grateful for.

I like the Japanese thought of broken as it would pertain to people. No matter how broken, that flaw is seen as unique to their history and adds to their beauty.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

