Gratitude 19July17 Loud Red Bird

For the past week and a half, I have had an unusual guest peeking into my home and observing my life.

A loud red bird has been sitting in the tree across the street from my home. The perch he has chosen as “his” looks directly into my house where I sit to do my writing, reading, and television watching.

He is not quiet about his presence. In a matter of fact, if I didn’t know better, the way he struts about and hollers, he wanted me to know he is there.

So, I got out my binoculars and gave him a good look back. It would appear I have acquired a handsome male Cardinal admirer.

There is a poem by Victoria McGovern that says “Cardinals appear when angels are near,”

The word Cardinal comes from the Latin word cardo meaning hinge. Some perceive this to mean in a bigger sense that the Cardinal acts as a “hinge” between the earthly world and the spiritual world.

There is the belief when life on earth ends, that you exist in a spiritual realm and you become a form of energy. As energy, you can present yourself to your loved ones in the form of say a living creature or do something like, turn the bathroom lights on and off.

In that sense, many people will say, I felt her walk by, I swear I smelled his cologne or I felt how he would tickle my neck. If we did become a source of energy, that would be possible. 

Given Cardinal’s coloring and volume, he might be a good choice for a spirit to say, “Hey! I’m thinking of you!”

Cardinals live in one location year-round. It turns out that he is renowned for that loud chirping and singing. And it wasn’t my imagination when I thought I heard him singing “Cheer-cheer” as I drank my coffee!

He has one partner and they tend to mate for life. Male feeding of the female is part of the Cardinal mating ritual. I like that.

Cardinals are known to be feisty. Their breed is known for health, strength, vitality. They say the crown on the top of the males head is evident of their fiery personality. When in a defensive posture, the crown will turn to flames of a fire.

More than just the spiritual piece, the Cardinal is an interesting creature.

Today I am thankful

  • One day away from getting out of the city for a few days.
  • It’s a beautiful Minnesota summer day. I treasure each of them.
  • I finally got my Book Writing program software downloaded. What an adventure that was. Major operator error.
  • Some days are just harder than others. I value the days that my soul is free and my brain is clear.

I had a chat with Mr. Cardinal just so we had an understanding. I am not sure if he is a spirit or just a bird?

But, just in case — it’s my mother or worse, my dad in bird form — life goes on in Lauraville as always.

I have actually grown a bit attached as the days have gone on.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

