Gratitude 22June17 Tell Me With Whom You Walk

There is a saying “Tell me with whom you walk, and I will tell you who you are.” Along with that same line of thought, “Tell me whom you love, and I will tell you who you are.”

As my dear Granny would say, “Birds of a feather, flock together.”

circle of womenIn our life, I think it is often more important to look at who is in our life than what is happening in our life. For myself, I have found, what is happening is often driven by “who” is in my life.

I will always have many acquaintances. There are many people in my life that I am fond of and will always keep in touch.

I have come to understand that life is unpredictable. If I dream of someone or think of someone, I will contact that person. I believe that is our unconscious way of telling us to reach out.

The people I “walk” with are a smaller and refined group. Those are the people that I find are a reflection of my life. I use my relationships with them as a gauge of “am I the kind of person I want to be?”

It is interesting to discover that we don’t require daily contact with each other. We all respect and understand the requirements that every day lives call from us. Not all of us are single.

Several live across the country miles away. One is a kindred spirit I met online years ago that I could call in a heartbeat. Not all are my age. Not all are female. A few are souls that I have connected with and are always there if I need them. The majority of my closest friends, I have known most of my life.

The common traits they all share are loving, honest, intelligent, strong, and gifted. The characteristics I strive to emulate as I give gratitude for their friendship daily.

Today I am thankful

  • The circle of family and friends I am blessed to have.
  • Another rainy day in the ATL. Go figure.
  • A busy day for my “To Do” list
  • A sweet and sleepy grand puppy.

Take five minutes today and make a personal connection with someone you love. Send them a card or call them instead of sending a text. Don’t call while you’re driving or multi-tasking. Call when you can give your undivided attention. Five minutes.

Tell me with whom you walk, and I will tell you who you are.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

