Gratitude 15June17 Death by Chain Letter

Died-From-Not-Forwarding-That-Text-Message-To-Ten-People_o_97961

Well, that’s it. I am going to have bad luck for years to come. I just deleted a chain letter without forwarding it to ten of my friends.

On the other hand, I will still have ten friends who are not angry with me for sending them another obnoxious chain letter to fill their emails.

I have received every kind of chain letter from “If you love Jesus” “You will be rich beyond your wildest imagination,” and like today’s special, “If you break this chain, you will have seven years of bad luck.”

There are two types of chain letters. A hoax, which is to trick or defraud a person. Often this is a money scam, request for personal information, or can be as malicious as the transference of a computer virus. The other are the urban legends which promise blessings, fortune, and fame.

I read a man in Delhi, Sunoji Sharma, who claims he was the one to invent SMS chain letters, was hit by a bus and is now in a coma. There you have it. You send it to all your friends and still get hit by a bus.

Today I am thankful

  • I am treating myself to a pedicure this afternoon. What a luxury.
  • I still have a smile on my face from spending time with special people yesterday.
  • I get time with my grandbaby Lucy this evening! I can’t wait.
  • It is a perfect summer day. The sun is shining, a lawn is being mowed, there is a soft breeze, my coffee was extra good this morning.

In the United States it is illegal to ask for money or any thing of value in chain letters. Beware of any scams coming your way and report them to the appropriate authorities.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

