Gratitude 13June17 Craving Carbs

Coffee and Donuts_0I woke up this morning with the need for comfort food. I started with peanut butter toast. I moved along to a bowl of Sugar Pops cereal. I snacked on some raspberries. Later in the morning, while enjoying a donut dunking euphoria with my coffee, it hit me — I am craving carbs.

For some people, it’s not a big deal. For me, having depression, it is. It is important that I listen to my body and what is going on with my brain.

There have been many studies that link the imbalance of the neurochemical serotonin in the brain with the body craving carbohydrates. And for me, the craving for carbohydrates has proven to be a strong indication that I am experiencing a chemical change.

An extensive study was done by Richard Wurtman, M.D., over thirty years ago. It identified one of the building blocks of serotonin as tryptophan, an amino acid. And guess what builds that crazy named amino acid? Sweet and starchy carbohydrates.

Unfortunately, as fate would have it, there are consequences to every theory. In my case, an excessive amount of bad carbs makes me sluggish, more depressed, and packs on the pounds.

When I realized this morning that I was craving carbs, I replanned my day to eat healthy carbs that would provide the same building block material for the serotonin. I, also, did some yoga and went for a walk to boost my serotonin levels.

While I have not been able to stop depression, I can minimize its impact on my life.

However, I did finish my donuts and coffee first.

Today I am thankful

  • I have a refreshing breeze blowing in my window. A nice reprieve from the heatwave of last weekend.
  • I went for a long walk and stopped and got my new book from the library. There is something about starting a new book. A new adventure.
  • I am missing my grandbabies. I am counting down the time to be with each of them this week.
  • My “To Do” list is long this week. I didn’t check off much today.

Our bodies are amazing machines. I am always in awe of mine, whether, it is doing what I want it to or not. I would prefer it lose a few pounds and slow down on the aging process.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

