Gratitude 26May17 Live Brave

Manchester Memorial Stuffed Bear.jpg_6848349_ver1.0_640_360I have been watching the coverage of the bombing in Manchester. Each time I am a world witness to the trauma of a terrorist attack my heart physically aches.

Over recent years Americans have seen first-hand events of terror. Skyscrapers crumble and burn to the ground, first graders shot, and a theater of moviegoers slaughtered, to name a few. We have buried those American’s and mourned their loss.

It would be easy to begin to live your life in fear.

I refuse to. I refuse to live my life in fear and give up any moment of happiness I have a chance of living. I will not allow a terrorist or a deranged person with a weapon to deter me from my right as a human being to enjoy my life.

As we go through life during times like this, I believe it is imperative to be vigilant. To be aware of your surroundings and not with blind abandonment and disregard. While I refuse to give up my right to happiness does not mean I will not protect myself.

We must practice the habit of being aware of our environment and anything around us that is out of the ordinary, be it in our neighborhoods, our co-worker, at Target or the airport.

If you see something, report it. Error on the side of caution. Trust your gut; it is usually right.

Today I am thankful

  • I am having a hard time getting moving this morning. And I am alright with that.
  • A new book is waiting for me at the library.
  • The.Best.Grandbabies.Ever.

I want to close with a final thought. Please pray for the victims of terrorism worldwide. I can’t imagine the pain of the families and their loss.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

