Gratitude 22May17  Disciple

DisciplineDiscipline is not my strongest attribute. If it were I would have been on time to my writing class, already have done my yoga today, and some would argue, I would be better behaved.

As I sit here writing this, I just glanced over to look at my list of things that I have to do today. I am a list maker. It is a habit of mine to keep me disciplined to make sure I get things done; I like that feeling of checking off an item as completed.

The act of being disciplined has many benefits. Although I admit, I could have argued some cons with you earlier this morning. With everything we do, we accomplish something. As we discipline ourselves to do something on a regular basis, we develop habits. Habits in turn, become a lifestyle.

There is the biblical saying “You reap what you sow.” The intent of our discipline will reflect in that. A reality check of my life barometer of my spirit, body, and peace of mind is an immediate reveal of how I am doing.

If you look at those areas of your life, it will disclose your level of discipline.

A goal for me would be to write a blog about how to achieve a disciplined life. It is not easy. If it were, I would be in my writing class; my yoga completed, and I still wouldn’t be well-behaved.

Today I am thankful

  • It is a nice day out. I consider a nice day now one with no snow or rain.
  • The lesson of letting go is one that is a continual process.
  • I am maxing out on downloading my pictures. I think sometimes you just have to be thankful for what you have achieved and go back to the project later.

Some days you just discipline yourself to do the best you can.

affectionately yours, Laura

One thought on “Gratitude 22May17  Disciple

  1. Sometimes I struggle with this notion of discipline, too. And I wonder… Is discipline what we really want? Or is it joy? Maybe vitality? I think my greatest joys are in the creative spontaneity of life, and I imagine that some level of discipline provides a foundation for that to flower. I wonder if, in the struggle you shared here today, it might be that inner source of creativity or vitality refusing to be bottled up. I am pretty sure it would be for me. –Tony

    Like

Leave a Reply

