Gratitude 11May17 Emotional Rights

You Hurt MeI recently read a saying on Pinterest that basically said you don’t have the right to tell me you did not hurt me.

It spoke very powerfully to me on several levels. Personally and the time’s people have come to me, to express emotion. Too often, my temptation is to explain or justify the reasons why the person might be feeling that emotion. The worse case scenario I have experienced is to hear “Oh, that’s not what you really are feeling.”

The end result is denying the person the opportunity to experience what they are feeling and receiving validation so they can process that. Most importantly, the opportunity for healing. Whether that is through an apology or talking through the situation that led to the emotion. It says loudly and clearly “Yes, you are worthy and your feelings are important to me.”

Today I am thankful

  • The view out my window is fantastic! Spring has everything blooming and green.
  • The sun is reflecting rainbows through the crystals hanging in my living room windows this morning.
  • I am looking forward to a walk today.
  • Life lesson: Gratefulness is a continuous process.

I am redefining my life roles. It is not my job to tell you what you are feeling. It is my job to acknowledge it. It is not my job to judge you. It is my role to ensure I support you, not harm you. It is making life simplistic and content.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

