Gratitude 14March17 Complacent

26c4426e1e054b6ad306014f5311659dToday’s blog is brought to you by the letter C. C as in complacent.

Complacent is an adjective. Merriam-Webster’s primary definition for it is as follows: marked by self-satisfaction especially when accompanied by unawareness of actual dangers or deficiencies:  marked by complacency:  self-satisfied

Today while communicating with a good friend, I shared that I felt there were areas in my life that I had become complacent about. Things are very comfortable in my life right now. Maybe, too much? I have begun to settle for this. Yet, I have to remind myself of dreams unfulfilled and bucket lists items unchecked.

Sometimes, a plateau of comfort is a good place to rest, but, not to stay. 

Today I am thankful

  • I spent valued time with my Uncle. What a charmer.
  • It was a beautiful day for a drive.
  • Time at my favorite coffee shop writing.

My second favorite song is Louis Armstrong’s “It’s a Wonderful World.” And when you look around, there’s so much to be grateful for. It makes it hard to just settle for comfortable.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

