Gratitude 10March17 Hard Calls

I just got done making calls to my senators and congress people in Washington. I am asking them to vote against the new health care plan – Trumpcare. Not asking, really, begging. 

For those of you who have followed my blog over the years, you know my story. I have a diagnosis of clinical depression that is severe and recurrent. I am a suicide survivor. 

Trumpcare will no longer provide coverage to those with mental illness after December 31, 2019. Nor will it federally require any insurance company to provide mental health care coverage.

Approximately 43.8 million people in the United States suffer an episode of mental illness a year. National Institute of Mental Illness (NAMI)

During my darkest of times I am hospitalized for my safety. Depression is seductive. It tells you are better off dead. “Just end it” “Do everyone a favor” “Why keep struggling like this?” The hospital, medication, and regular therapy keep me alive and balanced. It is my lifeline. 

This is not “free”coverage for me. Over a third of my disposable disability income goes toward my insurance premiums, co-pays, and medications. Not to mention, if I happen to fall and end up with an emergency room bill. 

Untreated mental illnesses in the U.S. cost more than $100 billion a year in lost productivity, according to the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI).

When making my calls today, I told the clerks I loved my life. I have grandchildren, family, and friends I need to fight to stay alive for. 

I, like many Americans with chronic mental health conditions, will not survive without the treatment and benefits health care insurance provides me.

This new health care plan will strip those opportunities for treatment away. The plan makes them unaffordable and unattainable for the mentally ill.

Please, vote NO to Trumpcare.

Today I am thankful 

  • I have a phone to make calls
  • I have a voice
  • Today I still have coverage

Any help you can offer is greatly appreciated. Call. Write. Your people in Washington. 

    affectionately yours, Laura

    https://psychcentral.com/blog/archives/2017/03/09/how-trumpcare-will-affect-mental-health/

    Leave a Reply

    