Gratitude 27November16 Credit Card Drama

This long weekend has been spent on my beloved blue couch amongst Puffs plus lotion (love them) puffsfilled bags, random Hall’s wrapper’s, and the smell of Vicks permeating the air.

To add to the excitement, I got an email from PayPal to let me know there was suspicious activity on my account. My account had been frozen and I should contact them. Followed by another email that said my password had been successfully changed. I called them only to get a closed for Thanksgiving message.

I got online and was able to access my account, change my password credit-card-1to a new password, and happily discovered that a no longer valid credit card and billing information from 5 years ago was on file. I forwarded the emails to a site recommended on PayPal’s site for further fraud investigation. I thought that was the end of this credit card drama story.

This morning I woke up to an email that said a new phone number had been added to my PayPal account. It was an international number. This time when I called into PayPal, I requested that they cancel my account. If someone had my information there, I wanted it closed down.

credit-card-2I started to do some research. With the invention of the chip in the credit card, it is making that a bit of a fraud challenge. And criminals have turned their sights to internet fraud in a big way. Online spending or what is called “card-not-present” spending is the new “hot spot” for criminals.

“Aite Group LLC, another consulting firm, estimated in May that so-called card-not-present fraud will rise to $4 billion this year from $3.2 billion in 2015. It expects that figure to jump to $7.2 billion in 2020.” Credit-Card Scammers Flock to Online Shopping by Robin Sidel, Washington Street Journal

Today I am thankful

  • I don’t have to leave the house all day.
  • My cold is on the mend.
  • I am going to work on crafts and watch Christmas movies.
I did what was recommended online for credit card fraud. I checked all my banking and account statuses. I will continue watching them. I assigned new, different passwords to each. I went through my social media sites to make sure all of my information was locked down and not opened to the public — this is where criminals get a wealth of information through posts and pictures.
affectionately yours, Laura

 

 

Leave a Reply

