Gratitude 26November16 The High Cost of a Cold

I woke up Wednesday with a tickle in the back of my throat. I went to bed with a horrible sore throat. I woke up Thursday still feeling miserable. However following my Thanksgiving tradition of Bailey’s in my coffee and the Macy’s parade, I felt a little number and took a long nap. As the day went on, I felt worse.

img_2629Friday I went in for a strep test, which happily was negative. But the rather unfortunate diagnosis was a viral cold. The physicians assistant told me I could expect a runny nose and cough to follow. On my way home from the doctor, I stopped at Target, totally forgetting about Black Friday, and battled my way to the pharmacy section. I picked up a ton of stuff I might need so I would not have to leave the house again this weekend.

As if on cue, I started to sneeze and cough at Target. It costs a lot of money to have a cold. I got throat lozenges, more ibuprofen, 2 boxeschris-rock of Puffs with aloe, a large bag of Halls Honey Lemon cough drops, a generic decongestant, saline salt solution in case my nose got too dry, Vicks VapoRub, Robitussin DM cough syrup (Chris Rock recommends it), Mucinex DM (just in case), chapstick, 2 large bottles of orange juice, 12 pack of Smartwater, a new historical romance novel, and cans of Campbell’s Chicken Noodle soup. And a box of novelty mint ice cream Christmas trees.

fullsizerender-1Whew. I slept for a long time when I got home and settled in. I gathered my amethyst rocks in my favorite dish for healing and my frog and Santa to stand guard. I am weird like that.

Just to make sure there hasn’t been any rocket scientist research since my last cold, I have been on Google. Just as always — rest, fluids, and take it easy. The average viral cold now lasts seven to ten days. No problem, my Christmas shopping list has been completed and checked twice!

Today I am thankful

  • I am getting a lot of work done on my grandbabies ballerina cross-stitch picture.
  • I watched season one of Grace and Frankie. Hysterical.
  • I am sending love to those I miss and love so very much. I am thankful for you in ways that are hard to put into words.

I read on Pinterest that if you put Vicks VapoRub on the bottom of your feet, it will stop you from coughing. I will report on my research soon.

My word of advice — Wash your hands often. That is the number one transfer of cold germs. Wishing you good health.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

 

One thought on “Gratitude 26November16 The High Cost of a Cold

Leave a Reply

