Gratitude 20November16 Starbucks Drama Continues

The following is a blog I wrote last year to the day. The ironic thing is, last year, Starbucks drama was because it dropped its traditional holiday cup, so people were having barista’s call out “Merry Christmas” as their name in protest.

This year Starbucks controversy is due to the presidential election. Trump voters are protesting against Starbucks because of an incident between a supporter and a barista. So, to get back at Starbucks, they have started a movement called #trumpcup. Go buy a cup of coffee and have the barista’s call your name as “Trump.”

Starbucks has seen a surge of business, which means money for them. And barista’s have begun to say “Trump” and quietly “lost the popular vote.” Which technically does say the name, Trump.

Me, I am still saying Marilyn Monroe.

20November15

I lucked out during my check out at Target today. The computer gave me a coupon for a holiday drink at Starbucks.

While I had been aware of the “red cup,” controversy — for those of you who don’t know — Starbucks this year decided to go with a generic red cup rather than it’s usually “holiday” decorated version.

Waiting in line, I heard a woman several people up from me tell the barista that her name was Merry Christmas. The next person did the same. The next person did the same.

peppermint mochaThe first person who did it got her order and was upset that the barista had abbreviated her cup to the initials M.C. So, the barista took her cup back and drew a Christmas tree on it complete with little bulbs. Everyone in line nodded and oohed and ahhed their approval and wanted the same.

When it was my turn to place my order, I ordered my grande Peppermint Mocha, and before she could ask my name, I responded, “Marilyn Monroe.” The barista whispered I was her best customer all afternoon!

Today I am thankful

  • I could afford a fancy cup of coffee
  • My car warmed up quickly in the chilly weather
  • I am happy and content

At $4.55 a cup, without a coupon, you would think there would be something better to focus on than a red cup. Like the fact you can afford it when there are people less fortunate.

affectionately yours, Laura

*reprint blog from 20November15

One thought on “Gratitude 20November16 Starbucks Drama Continues

Leave a Reply

