Gratitude 18November16 My Hair

I have never been a set my hair, style it, kind of woman. The desire to get up and stand in front of the mirror for a half-hour or so to blow dry or curl my hair never appealed to me. I have always been in awe of the women who can do amazing things with their hair. A pin here, a clip there, twist your hair into a messy bun on top of your head, and it looks good enough to wear to the beach or the club.

My brother once told me my need for therapy must have started with 00000006the Buster Brown haircuts my mom would glamour-shots-2give me. Even as a child I never had long hair. It was always a pixie cut. I can remember two times in my life I had long hair and ironically both correlated with the birth of my children. But I have always liked short, wash and wear hair.

I went through the coloring my hair phase. I prematurely grayed beginning in my early thirties. By my forties, I was coloring every six weeks. Part of that was working in corporate America and not wanting to look old. In my fifties due to health problems, my hair on its own just refused to be colored anymore. I just let it go naturally gray and haven’t turned back. The blessing in all of this is — I am blessed to have a lovely silver colored hair — thank you, Mom

hairSeveral times in my life I have shaved my hair off completely. It was a freeing experience. It had nothing to do with punishment of self; nor did I connect it to my feminity. It is more about individuality and the freedom of choice. My choice to do as I chose with my body.

I feel we most often look and dress for others. What is acceptable to society. I smile when I see women outside the norm with colored hair, tattoos, and dressed as they please. The older I get, the freer I feel just to look as I please.

Today I am thankful

  • A delicious egg bagel sandwich for breakfast.
  • I got my Netflix kind of working.
  • My new heart ornament Santi picked out for my holiday tree.

This blog started because I am going today to get my hair cut off. I can’t wait to see the hair fall to the floor.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

