Gratitude 16November16 No Gap? No Problem.

This morning I got up with a mission. I had to get my body moving. I have been in a bad funk, and I know one of the best things I can do to help myself is to get those endorphins flowing.

thighsI fired up my Wii Fit and was greeted with the message “Hello, Laura. It’s been 151 days.” I said a few choice words to the heifer that I missed her, too. I struggled through my check-in (not as painful as I anticipated), yoga, and some aerobic exercises.

By the time I was done my inner thighs stung. As I stripped down on the way to the shower, I stopped in front of my full-length mirror and saw my inner thighs were red and sore. “What’s up with that?” I thought. And for a hot second, I thought, “I wish I had one of those thigh gaps” and then reality hit and I laughed “Nah.”

I like the fact that my thighs meet. I like that they are thick. I like my body. I like being a woman. I like having curves and roundness. I enjoy being soft and firm at the same time. I love my shape that I inherited from my Mom. If I have to deal with bouncing boobs and rubbing thighs, I guess that is all part of the deal.

Today I am thankful

  • I got my Wii Fit time.
  • My little fake red fireplace is ordered.
  • A Santi day is always a good day

My thighs and I have shared some wonderful memories. From the feel of sandy beaches, bike rides, falling, babies, rocking chairs, my favorite couch, sitting in my car, and yes, men. I wouldn’t wish them away, ever. Enjoy your body. Take care of it, but, accept it for the gift you were blessed.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

