Gratitude 2November16 Not My Circus, Not My Monkeys

not-my-circusI came across an old Polish proverb, “Not my Circus, Not my Monkeys.” It stuck me as funny until I started reading the meaning and saw myself in it. Then it was quite a reality check.

There have been times in my life when it was easier to be absorbed in other people’s drama than dealing with my own. Being a particular type of personality, who likes to do things a certain way, I often will just do it myself and have it done my way than delegate it. And then there is my Olivia Pope “wanna-be” inner woman who want’s to fix it and make it all better for whoever I can.

All the above situations can easily be discerned as not my circus to be the ringleader and not my monkeys. All situations that I should either not be in or I could make my life much easier by just letting the task get done by someone else. A personal hard one for me is – you can’t make it all better – people have to choose that for themselves.

Today I am Thankful

  • I am heading to the lake for a walk with my bestie.
  • My Thanksgiving decor is out, and that makes me smile.
  • Clean flannel sheets on my bed.

Some of the questions I have started to ask myself when I get in a situation that feels like a circus that I want to interject myself. How does this involve me? Is this really my circus? What will this cost me to insert myself into the situation? In emotional investment? Time? Money? Am I on the Scandal set with Kerry Washington?

It’s okay to say “No, thank you. Not my circus. Not my monkeys.”

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

