Gratitude 26October16 The Sum Total of Five

golden-girls-1Every day I jot down what I am thankful for whether I blog about it or not. I don’t often include people on those lists. Those people I give thanks for in my prayers. I lift them up and ask God to bless them in every way possible that I as a human can not.

John Rohn is a motivational speaker, who is famous for his statement “We are the average of the five people we spend the most time with.” He based his theory on the law of averages, wherein any situation, there will be an average of all outcomes.

With that in mind, I looked at my cell phone and journal and wrote down the five people I have interacted with the most during the month of October. I then wrote down three words that described each of them. A shock was because I spend a lot of time alone, if I included myself as the sixth, I am my worst influence!

It was a powerful experience for me in a positive way. I am surrounding myself with people who love me without conditions, appreciate me for who I am, are honest, intelligent, talented and gifted, have a sense of humor, make time for me in their day, and we offer something of value to each other. It also pointed out areas of growth — something to explore.

Today I am thankful

  • My Circle of Women, you know who you are.
  • Caribou Reindeer coffee – limited edition – is being released for the holidays this weekend
  • I ordered a small heater for my little house to take the chill out .. burr
  • A Santi day is always a good day

As someone who keeps their world small, I often say I have many acquaintances and few dear friends. It is a comfort to know I am choosing wisely.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

