Gratitude 30August16 Relationship​ Equations

equasions.jpgRecently while writing, I began to list the people in my life who have made a difference. Somewhere in that process, I started to make equations out of our relationships. I would add me plus that person, and the sum would be an emotional, descriptive word. For example Laura + (insert name) = Love.

One interesting thing became apparent as I did this impromptu exercise. Although the names and sum words changed, one word did not, Laura. That was alright for the positive sum words, but it was a hard thing to look at for the negative word sums. There is accountability in relationships on both sides.

I don’t know about you, but I would rather all the drama be in someone else’s house and not my own. To reflect and think “Alright, yes, there was some drama hiding in my back closet, too. Well, in the kitchen, also” is a look in the mirror that takes throwing your shoulders back and just looking yourself straight on.

I am at a point in my life where I want peace of mind more than to be right or more than to prove my point or more than I want to be the bad bitch. I think that is what led me to start the whole equations exercise. Looking at the people in my life who have made an impact on who I am today.

Today I am thankful

  • It is a beautiful day out
  • I get to spend time with my best friend
  • Started Dirk’s recommendation You are a Badass by Jen Sincero

In full disclosure, I did my first love and my ex-husband with full algebra equations. 🙂

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

