Gratitude 22March16 Happy Birthday, Auntie Pat!

There are few people in my life that I know, without a doubt, loved me unconditionally. My Auntie Pat was one. No matter what was going on with my parents, family dynamics or my life, she remained constant and unmoved in the way she treated me. Never one of the crowd to play the ignore game, label or judge me. Nope, she remained the same, until the end. I loved her with all of me for that.

auntie-pat1Everyone should have an Auntie like her in their life. She was the fun auntie who wore the stylish clothes, eclectic jewelry, sparkly shoes and rhinestones on her glasses. I loved her stories. I liked that as she told them, she relived them, and her laughter always came from deep within. I valued the stories she shared with me about her and my mom when they were young.

I respected that she was her own woman and didn’t follow the crowd, she was a leader. I was in awe that she embraced that “wild woman” within that reflected in her style and the way she lived her life.

Auntie loved a good time. She took St Patricks Day to a level of green that is hard to believe unless you were there to experience it. She was an amazing cook and whenever I went to visit her at their cabin; guaranteed she would send me home with a container of her spaghetti and out-of-this-world potato salad — oh, so delicious.

I used to write her and send her funny cards. I had promised my Mom before she passed I would stay in touch with her, and I did. I feel blessed to have had strong, powerful women role models in my life. Women like Auntie Pat, who, I still to this day, pray to in hard times. Women who lived life with passion embraced life loved hard and left legacy’s to be learned from.

Today I am thankful

  • On my way into the world
  • Paperwork for Dad’s taxes is done — praise God!
  • The Voice should be good tonight

Happy Birthday, Auntie Pat. I will forever miss you.

affectionately yours, Laura

revised ** 12Nov13

Leave a Reply

