Gratitude 21March16 When is it a Lie?

o-WOMAN-CROSSING-FINGERS-BEHIND-BACK-570

Woman with crossed fingers

When is an omission of a fact a lie? If we are having a conversation, and I knowingly do not tell you a fact that is a piece of the story, am I telling you a lie? After all, I did not lie. I simply did not reveal the whole tale. I explore this because of the censorship I use in my life. That and the whole karma bus running my ass over for lying thing.

We have all been in a situation where we have declined to tell the whole story for whatever our reason. I am not saying we all should tell our innermost secrets all the time. I was just wondering, what is the line? I have people in my life I explore everything with no fear. I have people in my life I tell censored versions of my life. It’s not that I am lying, I just don’t want all of my business out on the street.

If you omit a portion of information with the intent to deceive, then by definition, a false statement made knowingly, that is a lie. It’s not in the interest of self-preservation, rather with the intent to hurt and be destructive. With that said, it is the thought behind your reasoning for not telling the whole story. It is with a positive or negative intent and only one person can answer that, you.

Today I am thankful

  • Sunshine coming through my windows
  • A good night sleep
  • I put my FitBit back on this morning 🙂

My censorship is always on the side of a cautiously protected life I live. Now the emails will begin. “What haven’t you been telling me?”

affectionately yours, Laura

One thought on “Gratitude 21March16 When is it a Lie?

Leave a Reply

