Gratitude 29January16 Drama Junkies

If you look, you will always be able to find unhealthy situations to insert yourself. They are everywhere. You choose to involve yourself and become a drama junkie in the world of unhappy people who go from one crisis to another. It is a choice. For me, if I focused on someone else’s drama, I didn’t have to deal with my own. It was a distraction to looking in the mirror.

drama junkieThere will always be someone that someone is doing them wrong; lack of planning becomes paramount to someone rescuing them to handle their now emergency. By keeping yourself around drama junkies, who thrive on the adrenaline rush — that comes with the fight or flight drama offers — takes a lot of energy. I guess it can be entertaining for a while. And it does add to your repertoire of tales to pass along.

Most of the best stories begin with “I was just standing there minding my own business and then (fill in the blank)” What it does do, without a doubt, is take away from your emotional energy. It can empty a room of positivity quickly.

Mama used to tell me “Girl; you’re a hot mess.” I didn’t understand that term of endearment then. I do now. It has been quite a long time that I have been avoiding drama like a plague. As I am getting older, looking at life through a different spectrum of realities, I am making different choices. I just don’t have time for drama anymore. My tolerance is at ground level for drama junkies.

Today I am thankful

  • Hopefully a hair cut today. I must need one, I woke up singing Beatle songs
  • My FitBit is motivating me
  • A new Valentine ornament for my Holiday tree

I wish you a wonderful drama free weekend. If you are able, pay it forward to someone in need.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

