Gratitude 28December15 Mindfulness

Mindfulness is the practice of keeping yourself in the here and now. It is not focusing on what was or what is to be. It is this moment, right now.

i just woke upWhen I need to focus, I listen to my breathing. I slow myself by inhaling slowly to the count of six, holding my breath to the count of two, and exhale to the count of eight. I do that several times. I also will turn my focus to what is going on around me. The sights, the sounds, I acknowledge what I am feeling and release the emotion.

Today I am thankful

  • Christmas has been put away till next year
  • Rainbows from the crystals in my window
  • A clean house

Mindfulness is a helpful tool when the craziness of the world gets to be too much. It is a powerful tool to make yourself focus on the good, and what to be grateful for in your life.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

