Gratitude 25Feb15 Personal Beliefs

I happened across an article about Pope Francis this morning; what a breath of fresh air he is to the Catholic religion. He stated in a fascinating interview about gay individuals, “If someone is gay and he searches for the Lord and has goodwill, who am I to judge?” I am sure if my Pastor read this, this morning, he choked on his Fruit Loops.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/on-faith/pope-francis-reaches-out-to-gays-says-he-wont-judge-gay-priests/2013/07/29/e2d51bf6-f83f-11e2-a954-358d90d5d72d_story.html

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

Spirituality, politics, and sexuality are challenging topics to discuss, even with the best of friends. I believe it is because those three topics define who we are. They reveal a great deal about our character, values and morals. To put those personal beliefs on display is scary.

If you are not a secure person in who you are and what you believe, you may be challenged and then how would you defend your beliefs? If you are firm in your beliefs, and who you are, you may offend someone and appear not open to additional opinions. Either way, laying out your blueprint leaves you open to being labeled, and assumptions made by others.

Today I am thankful ..

  • I live in a country where I am free to practice and state my beliefs.
  • A wonderful calm that surrounds me today.
  • Those who love me. No matter what, they love me just for me.
  • I dreamed about babies last night. I wonder who is pregnant? Hummm

I am a bible believing Christian, practicing Catholic, Democrat. Wow. What a mixture that is! I believe that people’s life choices are their business to discuss with their higher power. Whatever your belief, believe in something.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

