Gratitude 26Jan15 Green Eyed Monster

via Google search

via Google search

Jealousy. That green eyed monster that rears it’s ugly head and has you roaring. You act in an irrational manner as your heart and mind races at a feverish pace. You can not justify it. It just is.

Jealousy is an emotion based on past experiences and insecurities. Jealousy has no reason or rhyme. It does have permanent damaging affects.

I was caught up in a moment of jealousy this morning. It came over me without warning. Using mindfulness as a tool, I identified the emotion source. Sure enough, it was the haunting of my past that inserted itself into my present. A few beautiful pictures began an avalanche of green rage. My mind began creating the “what if” and “I should have known better” rants. Some yoga and deep breathing helped bring me back to reality.

Jealousy is a universal emotion. Everyone experiences it. What we do when we experience it is what makes it lethal or lame. I found the following paragraph in an article Jealousy – How to deal with it by Catherine Pratt. They are words to learn from and live. Although there is still a faint tint of green mist in my vision, my vivid green eyes have returned to blue.

“The important thing to remember is to use jealousy as a sign to heal yourself or as a sign that you need to start working towards a certain goal. Don’t allow yourself to hurt other people simply because you have a wound that needs your attention and care. If you’re still feeling jealous then you know you’re focusing on the wrong thing. You just need to turn it around and start focusing on what you do want. Jealousy truly can be a valuable emotion if you let it.”

Today I am thankful ..

  • There is no snow in the forecast for Minnesota
  • I am slowly getting myself back in the yoga groove
  • The blessings in my life

If you are like me and are susceptible to the green-eyed monster of jealousy. Remember to slow your roll, see it for what it is, and take your power back.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

