Gratitude 17Dec14 Collateral Damage

We live in a “me” society. I make my choices. I do what I want to do. I do what and when I want. That sounds all empowering, and good. But the reality is; there is no such thing as simple as “me”.

keep-calm-its-all-about-me-3Every decision and everything we do results in collateral damage. Even though it may be unintentional, all of our “me” choices affect those who are in our lives and around us. Your choices are a single drop in the big society pond of life that sends far reaching ripples of affects.

Let’s start with a few easy ones. Think about your choices so far today. If you chose not to bath or brush your teeth, not just you, those around you are affected. Did you choose to wear a bright plaid shirt with your candy cane striped pants? Someone has to look at that all day with you.

bhb0005A bit harder. You choose to have a few drinks and drive after work and slide through a stop sign. You decide to stop taking your medications for a few days to shake things up. Been there and done that. You let your physical health decline by not taking care of yourself. Someone in your life will have to pick up the slack.

It seems trifle, and it makes you want to become defensive. I guess it does come down to a “me” decision. How much do I care about those around me and how will my decisions affect their lives?

Today I am thankful ..

  • Watching the snowflakes fall outside my window
  • New music on my iPod
  • The countdown to being with my guy has begun

Life is a collaboration of habits and choices. Life is short ~ Live it well.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

