Gratitude 09Dec14 Not a Material Girl

I am not a big fan of material items. My home contains items that I value. If it doesn’t have a purpose, brings me happiness or is attached to a memory I am not ready to let go of, I let it go back into the universe.

via Google search

via Google search

I am a big fan of spending time and making memories. Time is the greatest gift anyone can give me. Time spent together talking and sharing. Taking the time to send me a card. Taking the time to call instead of text or email. Taking and making time from your life is saying loudly, I value you.

This holiday season, rather than spending time searching for the “perfect” gift, I am choosing a different strategy. I am stepping outside of the gift box and giving the gift of time and myself.

These “gifts” of time aren’t truly original gifts. An hour at a coffee shop, dinner, a play or hanging out at home sharing a bottle of wine. Time sadly is something that can not be re-gifted, however, you won’t have to return it, exchange it and it won’t take up room at home. Other than if I end up on your couch overnight after the bottle of wine!

And while not original, it is saying I love you and value your presence in my life.

Today I am thankful ..

  • A day at home
  • Soaking in the tub
  • My stack of paperwork is dwindling

“You will never “find” time for anything. If you want time, you must make it.” ~Charles Bruxton

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

