Gratitude 23Oct14 Save a Life

What would you do to save someone you love? Most folks, I think, would respond “anything” without censor. I want to challenge that.

What about the brother who has high blood pressure and doesn’t take care of themselves; as you watch them add more salt to their food. Or the morbidly obese friend who doesn’t exercise. You only get together with them to eat. The sister with diabetes who isn’t taking care of herself.

The friend who counts pieces of lettuce and isn’t getting enough nutrition. What about the cousin who is killing themselves one drink, blunt or pill at a time? The daughter you suspect is being abused by her significant other? How about me? If you knew I was suicidal, would you leave me alone? No worries. She just crashed “again.”

All of the above things I just wrote are things that cause death.

I agree everyone has personal accountability to take care of themselves. What if they are beyond the point of action to help themselves? Then there is the thought that their consequences have the potential to harm you or others you love.

I think of my family and friends who text or call me while driving. Worse, after indulging in a few drinks or smoke a couple of one-hitters then drive. The statistics are staggering, and the damage to many is far reaching.

I ask again. What are you willing to do to save a loved one? Too many times we are left to ponder at a memorial — I wish I would have gone for a walk with them. I could have gotten him help with his drinking. I should have reported that he was beating her.

Something all of us should give pause and think about. Is “anything” still your answer?

Today I am thankful ..

  • My flannel sheets, they felt wonderful last night.
  • Watching the birds play outside my window.
  • My Pumpkin Spice coffee creamer.

To my family and friends. I love you. Please, take care so I can have you in my life into old age.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

