Gratitude 12Oct14 Thank You for being my Friend

All of the relationships in our life have a purpose. They benefit or take away from our lives. I have recently been challenged to evaluate the relationships in my life and understand the purpose that each defines. People come into our lives for a reason, season or a lifetime.

Catching a rainbow via Google search

Catching a rainbow via Google search

I have been writing a lot about friendship in my journal. How they evolve, and the dynamics change. Growing apart doesn’t make anyone right or wrong. It just means there is a change of life’s seasons for both. I am learning that the most important piece of a relationship begins with yourself and the season you are in.

Some people come into our lives for specific reasons. To teach us life lessons that will enhance us. Those reasons can vary from the experience of happiness to heartbreak. I am learning that the manner in which I perceive the reason makes a big difference in how I embrace it. I take the reason as a gift, not as a punishment. Most of the time, the reason isn’t about me at all.

Then there are the friends that last a lifetime. I am blessed to have a handful that embrace me. We have boundaries in our relationship. Honesty without harm or hurting, trust, willingness to nurture our friendship, the moments we agree to disagree. Most importantly, we give one another the freedom to be oneself. In that is the unspoken comfort that is found not just in talking, but in silence together.

Today I am thankful ..

  • I am feeling content
  • Scandal was off the charts as always last night
  • Beyond excited to spend a “Girls Weekend” with women I call friends

“Some people come into our lives and quickly go, some stay awhile and leave footprints on our hearts. and we are never, ever the same.”

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

