Gratitude 09Oct14 And my heart said “Awww”

Every Wednesday, for as long as I can remember, my grandson Santi and I get together and hang out for the evening. It is our time to talk, catch up on what’s going on in our lives, and the best part is we tease and laugh a lot.

© 2011 llpeltier All Rights Reserved

© 2011 llpeltier All Rights Reserved

Occasionally there are serious times when he asks his now infamous “Grandma, Can I ask you something?” questions. The ones that make me begin to pray in earnest that I can answer whatever he has going on in his head. As he has gotten into his teens, his questions are thoughtful, and I do my best to be honest and rise to the occasion.

We have our set routine of a walk, shop, maybe a movie, and eventually we make our way to Barnes & Noble. We both share a love of reading, so we comfortably bump into each other and chat than wander off while going through books.

© 2014 llpeltier All Rights Reserved

© 2014 llpeltier All Rights Reserved

As he has grown from a little boy to this fascinating young man, yet, still a child, many things have changed in our boundary structure. We have negotiated on how many texts are okay to send; a limit on how many pictures I am allowed to take of him and the hardest for me is the no kissing or hugging in public rule.

Tonight when I dropped him off, he started to get out of the car and stopped. He reached over and gave me a big hug and kiss. Surprised, I asked what that was for, and he reminded me that I was leaving town. “And, you know, just in case.”

It spoke volumes to me that under that growing up body was still the heart of a little boy I have loved since birth and my heart said “Awww.” and skipped a beat with extra love.

Today I am thankful ..

  • My African violet plant is blooming
  • Tomorrow I leave for Sheep-land aka Sun Valley
  • It’s a beautiful day to be alive

There is a saying by Toni Morrison in her novel Beloved “Grown don’t mean a thing to a mother. A child is a child. They get bigger, older, but grown? What’s that supposed to mean? In my heart it don’t mean a thing.” And that is how it will always be for me and my babies.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

