Gratitude 2Oct14 Chair, Feng Shui and I

I have added a new chair to my home. It is a wonderful addition. It is deep red in color, velvet texture and has a wonderful ottoman. It is the kind of chair that calls to you, “Get your book and blanket. Come and snuggle with me.”

It is rather large. Which is what I like and dislike so much about it. The problem is; it has disrupted my whole feng shui thing I have going on in my home.

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

Long before it became “trendy,” I have been using the principles of feng shui for many years. Feng shui is the placement of items in your home that allows for the free movement of chi or energy. It is an ancient mystical practice that began in the orient.

There are three components to the practice of feng shui. 1. The flow of energy: Allowing the chi to move freely through the area. 2. The balance of yin and yang: Equal amounts of masculine and feminine. 3. The interaction of the five elements of the universe: wood, water, earth, metal and fire.

Here are a few things I do:

  • I hang crystals strategically around my home to break up and reflect away negative energy.
  • If my home, feels uncomfortable, I place bowls of sea salt in the corners to absorb the bad energy.
  • I have a wind chime above my desk for flow of energy and creativity.
  • I keep my home clear of clutter. What I don’t love, cherish or use, I send out into the universe as a gift or donation.

Back to the chair. I can’t seem to find the right spot for it. I keep moving it from one spot in my living room area to another, then to my office area, then back to the living room again. I am getting quite a workout, to say the least.

What I do know is when I am sitting in it, where ever it is, I feel content. The chair placement drama continues.

Today I am Thankful ..

  • My baby girl is in town
  • Jo. You are an unexpected gift from the universe to me.
  • I am in single digit countdown for my trip to Sheep-ville or Lamb Camp as Pam is calling it.

I woke up with this mantra on my mind .. “I let go. I accept my life as it is.”  I am wishing you, a day filled with smiles.

affectionately yours, Laura

One thought on “Gratitude 2Oct14 Chair, Feng Shui and I

Leave a Reply

