Gratitude 1October14 Give Your Melons a Good Squeeze

via Google search

via Google search

The warm water cascaded down my body like soft rain on a summer day. The scent of my Philosophy almond and cream body wash permeated my thoughts as I leisurely cupped my breasts and felt their weight.

Then, I did what I have done since I was a young woman. I gave my melons a good squeeze and did my regular breast exam.

I know a few of you were mentally getting ready to send me an email that I had finally crossed the line of masturbation in the shower. We won’t go “there” today.

via Google search

via Google search

The National Cancer Institute (NCL) website for 2013 announced “Based on current incidence rates, 12.4 percent of women born in the United States today will develop breast cancer at some time during their lives. “This estimate means that, if the current incidence rate stays the same, a woman born today has about a 1 in 8 chance of being diagnosed with breast cancer at some time in her life.

That, my beautiful circle of women, is one too many women in my opinion. I have had more than one person that I hold dear to me that has experienced or had the scare of breast cancer in their life.

During my last mammogram appointment, my doctor talked with me about the continued importance of breast exams. Even if a woman is not able to detect a lump, knowing the size, shape and feel of your breasts will signal any significant changes. The National Breast Cancer (NBC) website has an informative website, and I will attach a link for you.

http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org/breast-self-exam

via Google search

via Google search

On the NBC website, they estimate “Forty percent of diagnosed breast cancers detected are by women who in the process of doing monthly self-exams detect a lump. Ladies, take a moment today to give your melons a good squeeze, your life may depend on it.

Today I am Thankful ..

  • To the Virgin Mary for prayers answered.
  • My Victoria Secret flannel pajama’s
  • It’s official. I am in my size 4 jeans and I can breath!

I challenge you to do one of the following .. Pay it forward. Learn something new. Call someone you haven’t talked to in too long.  Look in the mirror and tell yourself “I love you just the way you are.”

affectionately yours, Laura

 #gratefulsurvivor #warrioragainstdarkness

Leave a Reply

