Gratitude 18Sept14 Courtesy Flush, Please

Back in 2004, Oprah and Dr. Oz took to the airwaves to discuss a topic very rarely talked about in private, much less an afternoon talk show. The topic? Bowel movements a.k.a. pooping.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) defines a bowel movement as the last stop in the movement of food through your digestive tract. Your stool passes out of your body through the rectum and anus. It is made of what is left after your digestive system (stomach, small intestine, and colon) absorbs nutrients and fluids from what you eat and drink.

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

The shape, color and consistency of your poop is a true indicator of your health. After some research online, here are 5 things to watch for.

  1. Healthy poop should have the shape of a snake with a brown coloring and a smooth soft consistency.
  2. You should be able to poop easily without straining.
  3. How often you poop varies. Ideally, you should go every day to rid your body of its toxins.
  4. When you poop, you should finish with the feeling that everything is out, not the sensation that there is more to come.
  5. The smell of your poop depends on the food and drinks you consume. Havarti cheese? Stinks. Fruit? Not too bad.

I consider my bathroom sacred territory. No one is welcome when I am in there to handle my business. My bathroom is always stocked and ready for action. I have a little cart next to my toilet with all the essentials: J.R. Watkins air freshener, a full container of Cottonelle wipes and my latest catalogs.

As a responsible “pooper,” I do what is known as a “courtesy flush” and flush several times during the process to minimize the odor. Please, do so when visiting me!

© 2014 llpeltier All Rights Reserved

© 2014 llpeltier All Rights Reserved

Today I am thankful for ..

  • The comfort of my bed. The feel and smell.
  • My new rain boots arrived! I adore them.
  • Everything pumpkin

So, next time you think your shit does not stink. Welcome to the real world. All of ours does.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

