Gratitude 14Sept14 Exceptionally Average

I find myself at a plateau in life. It requires me to make a choice. How do I want to live the rest of my life? Average or exceptional? At 57, I am arriving at this stage of life rather late. Like they say, “It’s never over, till it’s over.”

The hardest part of making the jump from average to exceptional are the choices I am having to make. The sacrifices. The work involved. Finding the courage. The belief in myself. And the hardest, opening the door to my heart and privacy I have guarded so long. Taking the risk of being hurt.

© 2006 llpeltier All Rights Reserved

© 2006 llpeltier All Rights Reserved Iysanti begins his challenge

I think of when I was little and would swing on the playground monkey bars. Initially, I got help so I could get the feel of the bars and the rhythm of swinging from one to another. I got braver and tried it on my own. I would get so far and fall. I would get up again and start over. With each try, momentum and determination built. It felt amazing when I finally went from one end to the other with ease. I achieved my goal.

Like the challenge of the monkey bars, I understand right now I need help to get the feel and petulant motion. My falls and getting back up have been many. With each attempt, I go a little farther. I am more determined. I want to feel myself get to the other side.

© 2006 llpeltier All Rights Reserved   Iysanti "I did it!"

© 2006 llpeltier All Rights Reserved
Iysanti “I did it!”

No. I don’t want to end this life average. I want to love with passion, I want to do what makes me glow from within, and I want the exhilaration of accomplishment.

And then, I am okay with settling into the comfort of exceptionally average. In love, content, and at peace knowing I went for it all. I don’t want to leave this life with regrets.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • My dear friends who lifted me up last night and embraced me.
  • Opening up my heart and world. I treasure every minute.
  • An easy day ahead with a very short “To Do” list.

Answer the poll below. It is not an easy question. Are you settling for less? Or are you living an exceptional life?

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

