Gratitude 9Oct13 S.M.A.R.T. Goals

“A goal without a plan is just a wish.”

Almost everything in my life that I want to achieve is guided by S.M.A.R.T. goals. I use the five point process as my structure and reality check. I begin by writing out a mission statement of what I want to achieve. Then I ask myself the SMART goal guidelines. Is this goal Smart, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Time bound? If I am close to being on point. I map out my goal around those five guidelines.

My Nemesis Hill  © 2013 llpeltier  All Rights Reserved

My Nemesis Hill
© 2013 llpeltier
All Rights Reserved

A recent example: As part of my 10,000 steps a day, I wanted to conquer a challenging hill near where I live. My goal statement was: By the 5th of October, I want to include the Fairy Falls Hill in my 10,000 steps a day. I want to be able to walk up that hill without feeling like I am going into cardiac arrest.

I questioned … Smart: A good health challenge, Measurable: The hill in my 10,000 steps, Attainable: Yes, Relevant: It would be part of my getting in shape program, and Time bound: By the 5th of October.

As someone who tends to dream big,  the SMART guidelines have become an intricate part of my decision and goal making process. When I begin to think of ways to lose 15 pounds in two weeks, it slows my roll and helps me put it all in perspective.

I did achieve my goal yesterday. It took longer than I thought to get beyond that feeling like I was going into cardiac arrest. I can tell you it is roughly 2,713 steps from bottom to top and back down again. It felt great to get to the top, not out of breath, and be able to dance around like the wild woman I am in the middle of the street!

Today I am thankful for ..

  • A sense of calm and clarity
  • My new playlist on my iPod
  • Tootsie Pops have only 60 calories and last a long time
  • OPI color “Chile Pepper” on my toes

Whatever your political affiliation, take a moment to send up positive thoughts and prayers for an end to this gridlock and for the well-being of our nation. Pay it forward.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

