Gratitude 3Sept14 Betty Crocker? Maybe.

I am not a Betty Crocker type of woman. It’s not that I don’t like to cook. It’s just when I do cook something burns, starts on fire or blows up. This is common knowledge in my family. Whenever I offer to cook something for a family get together, everyone says in unison “No! Just bring the beverages.”

Recently, my Dad has been having a hard time with his eating and cooking daily meals. He is a really good cook and enjoys the process. Which makes it a bit sadder to see another area of his life limited.

Listing my options of how to help, I kept coming back to the one I liked the least. I am going to start cooking for the both of us. I am thinking a couple of meals a week with leftovers. I can do this.

Anne Traintor

Anne Taintor

First, I did some research online about the whole food burning situation. How to quickly put out kitchen fires and foods that are least likely to explode. Second, I dug out my Mom’s cookbooks and recipes that she gifted to me. She always hoped I would learn some culinary skills. Third, with list in hand from The Good Housekeeping’s Illustrated Cookbook, off to the store I went for supplies.

I bought a crock-pot, cooking bags, and a couple of baking pans. I am going to start with a meatloaf, tilapia and pot roast this week. I might take a drive out to the General Store of Minnetonka to buy a brightly colored kitchen apron that I have often looked at with awe.

Now that would be a picture for my yearly Christmas card! Me in the kitchen with an apron on and a cocktail in hand.

Rest assured, I have notified the local fire department. It is part of our agreement after that unfortunate turkey incident several Thanksgivings ago. To be continued …

Today I am thankful for ..

  • The quote “She who is brave is free.”
  • Sex really early in the morning and going back to sleep.
  • Pumpkin Pie Spice coffee creamer.

There are times in life we have to face our fears head on. Somewhere in this is a life lesson I will look back on and be grateful for.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

2 thoughts on “Gratitude 3Sept14 Betty Crocker? Maybe.

Leave a Reply

