Gratitude 2Sept14 Tired of Being Tired

As the saying goes “When you’re tired of being tired, you’ll change.” It applies to everything in our life. I am tired of being fat. I am tired of my joints hurting. I am tired of being used. I am tired of doing a job I don’t like. I am tired of being disrespected. I am tired of not having any me time. I am tired of putting everyone else first.

While not said in the context of “I am tired,” I have heard the above statements from friends recently. If the refrain sounds familiar, the answer is — do something.

No matter what you do, it will be better than doing nothing. Talking doesn’t get results, doing does. Saying “One day I am going to ..” doesn’t get it accomplished. Procrastination is not your friend.

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

It isn’t about taking the whole challenge on at one time. It’s about making small changes in your life. It’s about being honest with yourself and those around you. It’s removing toxic people from your life. It’s not choosing the bag of potato chips but grabbing fruit instead. It’s about parking farther away from the store for exercise. It’s going to bed a little earlier. It’s about doing what needs to be done to get content with the person in the mirror. It’s about learning to say “No, I chose me this time.”

Only you have the ultimate control over your life. If you feel you don’t have control of your life, it’s time to take it back. The choice of how you want people to treat you is a beginning. Treat yourself with love, kindness, and respect and people will follow your lead.

Tired of being tired? Empower yourself. There is no magic cure. It is a little by little endeavor. It may not cure-all of your woes, however, doing something is a step forward to the you, you want to be. When you are truly tired of being tired, you’ll put in the work and you’ll change. Until then, stop the complaining and be content with who you are, where you are in life.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • My pile of paperwork is once again manageable.
  • It’s a writing day.
  • Watermelon! I have been eating it in abundance.
  • My grandson started the 9th grade today. I am so proud of him.

A recent life lesson for me has been what I wrote about today. There are things in my life that I am tired of. I am making the choice to not limit my happiness by being tired anymore. I am wishing you the same.

affectionately yours, Laura

4 thoughts on “Gratitude 2Sept14 Tired of Being Tired

  1. Good Morning….Awesome message…did you write this because of me…were you feeling my vibe? I made a decision yesterday to make some changes because I’m tired…. and I’m tired of complaining and sounding like a shrew!

    Like

    • Thelma, I miss you so much. No, I wrote it in my journal to myself and it took on a life of it’s own from there. I can not imagine my best friend sounding like a shrew! My week is already filling up. Let’s try to block out some time this weekend. I am craving a margarita and we have some catching up to do! Love you, Louise

      Like

    • Dawn, Thank you so much for your support and encouragement of my writing. You have been one of my circle of women who have been with me since the beginning in September 2012. Your Sister Bear love is held close to my heart and valued. Yes, we are due for one of our marathon talking breakfasts. I will call soon. LL

      Like

Leave a Reply

