Gratitude 1Sept14 I Fell in Like With a Boy

© 2014 llpeltier All Rights Reserved

© 2014 llpeltier
All Rights Reserved

I fell in “like” big time. No one is more shocked than me. I am the one who writes about not believing in that sort of “falling” situation. And that was my blog you read about the benefits of being happily single.

Now, here I sit in awe of the emotions swirling within me. Eating crow as the saying goes. What I have been proclaiming has bitten me in my ass when I least expected it. I am experiencing a mixed state of bliss and trepidation. Giggling at the fun that was had, reflecting on the conversations and groaning at the irony of it all. As my Dad said to me “Well, Laur, all those good intentions went to hell in a hand basket.”

As fate would have it, it is a relationship that will be defined by the boundaries of friendship. Nothing more, nothing less. I am filled with happiness and gratitude to have the friendship. I value and treasure the relationship.

My fall into like-dom has stirred in me what I have been content to have dormant. I am discovering a new dimension within myself. A renewed desire to share life experiences and make memories with another. Yes, I fell in like with a boy who is my friend.

My Dad ended our conversation this morning by saying “This is good for you, Laur. It builds character. Anyone can “Slam bam, thank you Ma‘am.” Now, buck up and get it together.” Thanks, Dad, words of wisdom.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • Josh, my beloved, hair person. It’s hair cut day!
  • The sun shining on the crystals hanging in my window are creating rainbows all over my office.
  • The first day of September. My favorite season is here.

Labor Day is a federal holiday dedicated to the hardworking men and women in the late 1800’s who fought for safe and fair working conditions. It was fraught with strife and violence to achieve. While enjoying your day off, give gratitude to them for the benefits of work-friendly conditions.

affectionately yours, Laura

2 thoughts on “Gratitude 1Sept14 I Fell in Like With a Boy

  1. Congratulations, Laura, that’s very fun news. I hope every second of it is wonderful.
    And It looks like you started your blog in September of last year-a whole year’s worth of writing!

    Like

  2. Maybe just maybe…you’re struggling because it’s a feeling you once thought you could control and now you know that you can’t. Either way…I’m glad you hear you found Like. 😉

    By the way…we’re due for breakfast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

