Gratitude 26August14 Don’t Stop at 5, Make it a Habit

This new Facebook trend of 5 day challenges to document what you are thankful and grateful for has me amused. Don’t get me wrong, I am thrilled that people are being insightful. There are so many things in your life to appreciate and not take for granted. It’s just that for once, I was ahead of the curve. I am patiently waiting for someone to challenge me, so, I can simply supply the link to my gratitude blog site. 

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

I have been writing and blogging at least three things a day on affectionately yours, Laura with a daily section titled “Today I am thankful for …” since September 2012. I began my gratitude journal as a tangible means to center myself. A written documentation that I could go back to when I needed reminding of all that is good in my life. Even when I am not online, I have a journal I write in daily. 

Giving gratitude and being thankful shouldn’t be a challenge and / or a phase. It should be an every day occurrence. Whether you write it or just say it to yourself, self-inventory of the goodness that surrounds you is beneficial in many ways. Albert Schweitzer, a great philosopher, theologian and physician who won the Nobel Prize stated the following: 

“To educate yourself for the feeling of gratitude means to take nothing for granted, but to always seek out and value the kind that will stand behind the action. Nothing that is done for you is a matter of course. Everything originates in a will for the good, which is directed at you. Train yourself never to put off the word or action for the expression of gratitude.”

alwaysThere are now actual studies that support the benefits of being grateful in all areas of a person’s life. People are more optimistic, it improves their mood and the alleviation of stress leads to a healthier body. If you are one of the many taking part in the gratitude / thankful challenge, get yourself a notebook and don’t stop at 5 days. Take a few minutes out of every day to write what you are grateful for. Keep it simple. It doesn’t have to be complicated or lengthy. You will reap the benefits of a positive life change. With that said …

Today I am thankful for ..

  • The darkness is lifting, light is coming back into my world. #gratefulsurvivor
  • I have a jelly doughnut waiting for me to eat with my morning cup of coffee.
  • It was an Ovo© morning. 
  • It must be fall, I am craving a pumpkin latte.

Louis Armstrong sang it best. “Yes, I think to myself what a wonderful world. Oh, yeah.”

affectionately yours, Laura

 

One thought on “Gratitude 26August14 Don’t Stop at 5, Make it a Habit

Leave a Reply

