Gratitude 8August14 Silver Haired Fox

I was in my late 20’s when my first gray hair appeared. The women on my Mom’s side of the family grayed young — it didn’t come as a shock — just a disappointment. For 30+ years I spent my time and money on coloring my hair to hide it. During my 30’s and 40’s, working in corporate America, it made sense given the challenges of keeping up with the younger image. In my 50’s? Not so much anymore.

I admit to some vanity of hanging on to my inner brunette goddess as long as possible. Even though she was long gone. The woman who looks back at me with blue eyes in the mirror is all silver. I am at peace with that. The process of aging is a progression. Personally, to stop dying my hair, was a part of that. It seems like a small thing as I struggle to keep my body healthy at this age.

© llpeltier All Rights Reserved

© llpeltier All Rights Reserved

I do occasionally cruise the color aisle at Target with wishful intent. I have been known to try on a few brunette wigs and debate the purchase. There are moments of passing a mirror and backing up for a second look. Part of that is the shock of seeing a glimpse of my Mom in myself. Personally, my silver hair has brought about a new sense of acceptance of self in this season of my life. It is the embracing of who I am, as I am, a silver haired fox.

Today I am thankful

  • Rainbows filling my porch from the morning sun on my hanging crystals.
  • The excitement of my grandson and his countdown to the release of the Teenage Mutant Turtle movie release today
  • Heading into the weekend with plans of time with family and friends.

Take time for yourself this weekend. A few moments to nurture and re-energize. Treat yourself to a nap, pedicure, read a book. I promise the world will still be there with all it’s challenges when you return.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

