Gratitude 1August14 F*ck-It Friday

via Pinterest.com

I woke to the sound of birds chirping and doing their bathing ritual outside my window. I laid there a while slipping in and out of the land of sleep. I love my bed and it’s a challenge to leave it each morning. I got motivated when my iPod went off with Teena Marie serenading me with It Must be Magic to get me moving. I did my stretching thing — when I had my back surgery for a pinched sciatica — the best advice the neurosurgeon gave me was to stretch like a cat before I got out of bed. Try it — it feels wonderful. I began my morning routine in a sleep walking state. This woman is definitely not a morning person.

I mindlessly reached into my glass jar to grab a K-cup for my morning cup of coffee. Only to discover it was empty. Perking up, I checked the spot I keep a couple of emergency ones. Zip. Nada. Okay, this isn’t terrible, I’ll have a cup of tea. I put my ingredients for my smoothie into my blender. Hitting the blend button I realize a tad too late the lid was not on tight. My kitchen and I were now covered in a mango smoothie. A few deep breaths and I clean up the mess. I am thinking some yoga and mindfulness on my Wii Fit would help at this point. Of all days, the batteries in my Wii board are dead. A search revealed I did not have extra AA batteries. It was at this point, I decided this was going to be a f*ck-it day.

boy cutsOne of those days that a conundrum of events have you wondering “What the hell?” Like the axis of your universe has gone off tilt a bit. A series of mind boggling events has you choosing f*ck-it rather than being upset. The bonus in all of this is I have nothing I have to do today. I offer gratitude into the universe for that blessing. With that, un-showered, I throw on my funky boy cut jeans, my well worn Marilyn tee shirt and Twins baseball cap. I head first for the coffee shop for a strong cup of java. Then to the grocery store for a few things, including a large box of Caribou coffee K-cup’s , AA batteries and a raspberry filled donut. A bit later, I am thinking a trip to the liquor store for a bottle of Skinny Girl Margarita’s, might be in order. The day is looking much better, I am a content woman with a plan.

A f*ck-it day. We all need them. A day to do as we please. My cup of coffee and donut has the world looking much better already. Maybe I’ll head for the pool with my book or go back to sleep for a while. Later, I’ll snuggle in my chair on my porch and read. And there is always that margarita over ice and extra batteries. Sounds like a f*ck-it plan to me.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • I am just thankful for my life. The good, the bad and all in between

**A quick note of appreciation to all of my readers who wrote me with tales of shower time with their partners yesterday. You are very welcome for the inspiration. lol. I must admit, I live vicariously through you. While you got reality, I simply shared my fantasy. I have started a new page titled “Sensual. Naughty. Erotic. If you look right below my top picture, you’ll see a black bar with my pages listed on it. That is for the few emails I got saying the post was a “tad” inappropriate and shocking on a gratitude blog.

Wishing you all a happy and safe weekend.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

