Gratitude 23July14 Mindfulness

“The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, nor to worry about the future, but to live the present moment wisely and earnestly.”
~Gautama Buddha~

Mindfulness Work Sheet via Pinterest.com

Mindfulness Work Sheet via Pinterest.com

Mindfulness is a tool I find myself practicing often. I have learned it is an acquired skill that does not come easily. Particularly, for someone like me, who struggles with her past and worries about her future. Yet — that is the gift of mindfulness — it gives you freedom from the past and future because it’s complete focus is on the here and now. I have copied a form I use when I am struggling to get my mind focused on the present moment.

Psychology Today online had an excellent definition: “Mindfulness is a state of active, open attention on the present. When you’re mindful, you observe your thoughts and feelings from a distance, without judging them good or bad. Instead of letting your life pass you by, mindfulness means living in the moment and awakening to experience.”

A skill I have been working on is listening to people during conversations. Instead of thinking of a witty reply or what I need to do next or just a wandering mind, I listen. I listen to what the message the person is conveying to me. I often affirm by saying “So, what I hear you saying is … ” I observe their hand jesters, their facial expressions and to see if what is being said is reflected in their eyes. Say what you will about a “poker” face, every person has a “tell” that gives away emotion.

Mindfulness is empowering. It exercises our brains to keep focus and as a result, a more productive life. I personally combine mindfulness with my daily yoga. The focus of positions and routine patterns keeps me in the present. The continued driving force of mindfulness that keeps me striving is the depth of gratitude that is revealed to me.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • The cool breeze coming through my porch window
  • The taste of my raspberry iced tea
  • The feeling of contentment of many things accomplished

Take a moment to think of something you can smell, are touching, can hear, taste and look into the distance and describe what you see. You just experienced mindfulness.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

