Gratitude 18July14 The Process of Life

Better Choices via Pinterest.com

Better Choices via Pinterest.com

In my professional life I worked in Process Development and Training. Both required me to observe how a job is done. I would then break down whatever the task was into steps, analyze and evaluate ways to perform more efficiently and/or train it at a higher level for better performance objectives. The use of process flow charts with their multiple shaped squares, arrows and yes or no pathways became second nature. Does this work? Yes? Then go to the next step. That doesn’t work? Follow the arrow for options. Often, however, staring too long at the specific details left out the most crucial piece — the large picture – and how it affected those performing the job.

The idiom “You can’t see the forest for the trees” comes to mind. When I find myself so focused on the details, I lose sight of the big picture of my life. With my depression I often have to remind myself “It is just a bad day, not a bad life.” In the moments of my darkest depression, there is a loss of the sense of time. It can feel like my struggle has been endless and has no end. When in reality, it has been a day and as I have proven many times, the darkness does end. It is imperative to keep the big picture in your mind.

Anna Vidal "How To Be Productive"

Anna Vidal “How To Be Productive”

I found a flow chart online How to be Productive by Anna Vital. Using much the same techniques I used in process development for tasks, she breaks down the areas in our lives. Her focus being mind, body, schedule and even adds in such things as clothes, tech and food. Vitals’ flow charts are easy to follow and while mostly common sense, they help you to see the forest while harvesting one tree at a time.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • The peace that surpasses all understanding Philippians 4:7
  • Antibiotics that perform magic in 24 hours
  • Anticipating time with my grandbabies this weekend

In our world that is rapidly becoming more “me” focused and self-entertaining, we lose sight of compassion for others in need. Take time this weekend to be mindful of that. What you put out into the universe will be returned to you. Please join me in praying for the victims and their loved ones left behind of flight MH17.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

