Gratitude 16July14 The Last 9 Pounds

I am this [ 9 pounds ] close to my goal weight. And these last pounds are a bitch to lose. I must admit, I know I am my own worst weight loss enemy. My trips to the Dairy Queen, pizza with my grandson, a little taste of this, and I don’t want to head to the gym in the rain are all part of the problem. I though I would do some research to find out what makes staying focused on losing these last few pounds so hard.

Still Beautiful via Pinterest.com

Still Beautiful via Pinterest.com

A quick Google search revealed I am not alone, It is not uncommon to suffer from what is called “diet fatigue”. Many people become not as careful in what they eat as they get closer to their goal. Like me, they reward themselves for weight goal achievements with — wait for it — a decadent food treat. It would seem the answer to get back on track is rather simple. Be mindful of what I am eating, my portion sizes and keep on moving and exercising.

Personally, my doctors encourage me to focus on my Body Mass Index (BMI) versus my size in pounds. Your BMI is the amount of fat stored in your body based on your weight and height. When I started focusing on getting back into shape, August 2013, I had a BMI of 29 and weighed 152. Not healthy proportions for a 5 foot tall woman. I was feeling the effects in my body functions and overall health.

Today, I have a BMI of 23 and weigh 121. I feel much better physically and believe it has made a difference in my emotional health, as well. Here is a link to this really cool site that shows you where you are at and where you want to be. It’s been self-motivating for me. The site has a simulator where you put in your information and it shows you an avatar of those porportions.  Here are pictures from the site of my start and where I want to be.  www.modelmydiet.com

Started August 2013 via Model My Diet.com

Started August 2013 via Model My Diet.com

Today July 2014 via Model My Diet.com

Today July 2014 via Model My Diet.com

Today I am thankful for ..

  • My grandbabies and the joy they each bring into my life
  • It’s never too late to make new choices and start anew
  • The world is asleep and quiet out my window. I value the peace.

There’s that saying “I’m not going to say it’s going to be easy, but, it will be worth it.” Wishing you all good health, happiness and a peace of mind.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

