Gratitude 10July14 Hopeful Expectancy

I was recently told that I should “free” myself and begin to live a life of hopeful expectancy. An expectation that is akin to the feeling you had as a child waiting for holidays to come. The anticipation and excitement that came with each. That deep sense that all you are hoping for will come true. Crystal Anne Compton defined it on her Facebook page as “What is this? It is a mindset that involves knowing deep down that whatever is to come will be good for you, while at the same time not feeling the need to envision a specific outcome.”

Catching a Rainbow via Google search

Catching a Rainbow via Google search

There is a new found freedom that comes from waking each day and being thankful for nothing specific except the  knowledge that it is going to be a good day. The innate feeling that without specifying what, there is a hopefulness that outweighs any doubt that any outcome will end well. It is in this that I deepen and cultivate my sense of gratitude. It is letting go of that mental image of my picture in the encyclopedia next to Murphy’s Law and replacing it next to Hopeful Expectancy. I will admit, these past several weeks, it has made a difference in my world.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • I am reviewing old blogs and making corrections. It is hard work. With each one done I am very thankful.
  • Yesterday, my grandson and I had a wonderful time together. I am still smiling at the memory.
  • My doctor appointments are done for 3 months! Yeah!
  • I have discovered Blue Chair Bay Banana Rum. Oh, my. I might be adding it to my morning smoothies.

Every day we have a choice to make. We decide to give life our all or give up. I have said before that even in life’s piles of shit, there is at least one kernel of hope or wisdom. I am wishing you the courage to dig to find it.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

Leave a Reply

