Gratitude 2July14 User Beware

I am a bit befuddled at the current outrage that Facebook has been doing psychological testing on users of the ever popular media site. They took it to a whole new level by attempting to manipulate the moods of users. To do that, they put specific positive or negative content on their wall and then monitored the users posts. Facebook spokesman Matt Steinfeld issued an email statement yesterday stating “It’s clear that people were upset by this study and we take responsibility for it.” If Facebook is willing to monitor your activity and bombard you with similar marketing — why is this testing any surprise?

Laptop in the Sunshine via Pinerest.com

Laptop in the Sunshine via Pinerest.com

When you sign up for Facebook, any and all posts and pictures you put on their site is now their property. Those rants about religion and politics and those topless pictures from your wild vacation are now out of your control. I am one of the guilty ones as there is evidence of a few Don Julio fueled evenings of mine I wish hadn’t been put on my wall. Delete all you want, they still exist somewhere in the endless bowels of Facebook.

I believe the important message is user beware. There is nowhere to hide on the internet. Recently, I temporarily deactivated my primary Facebook account. Like anything can in life, it became a habit for me. With other things in my life needing to take precedent, a prioritization of things left time for Facebook low on my list.The first few days were rough — I am happy to report I have recovered just fine.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • The satisfaction that comes from volunteering
  • New summer reading material waiting for me at the library
  • Heading outside to enjoy the sun while it is here!

Anything in life that requires you to check that “I agree to all of the terms ..” is worthy of your time and attention. Within could be promises and commitments you are not ready to sign away.

Wishing you a sun-filled day of joy. Love into the universe to those I miss so very much.

affectionately yours, Laura 

Leave a Reply

