Gratitude 18June14 The Power of Thank You

thank you via pinterestA recent posting on Facebook had me searching Google with the question “What happened to saying thank you?” My research revealed more complaining about the lack of courtesy than the reason for the decline. As a test this morning while volunteering at the library, I listened to conversations. “I need this book.” “Where can I find this?” What was missing? Please and thank you with each encounter.

I was raised to use the “magic” words — please and thank you. If you didn’t use them, you were reprimanded or not given what you asked for. I was taught to send hand-written thank you notes. Now, in our digital age, a text or a e-mail shout out is the equivalent. Personally, I miss getting hand written cards and letters. They say you took the time to show you value me.

In a society where we keep track of each other via Facebook and Twitter. Our need for face to face interaction becomes less necessary. Which I believe, in essence, requires less need to be polite. More than once I have blogged about the phenomena of how brave people get behind a computer. No longer is the need for the accountability that comes with being in someone’s presence.

grateful via pinterestThinking about myself, my form of “thank you” is expressing gratitude. It is feeling blessed for all that is in my world. I am a firm believer in doing what is right for me. I say “please” and “thank you” because it is a sign of courtesy and respect. If it’s not acknowledged that is not my issue. My part of the situation is done. Sometimes you have to put it out into the universe with no expectations of a “thank you.”  You have to do what is right for you and let it be just that.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • My volunteer time and steps are done for the day
  • It’s crazy humid out so off to the pool I go
  • A Santi day, is always a good day

If I don’t say it enough to each of you who are faithful readers, thank you. Taking the time out of your life to share a bit of mine — is truly appreciated and valued. If wishes come true I will get us to our vacation on a private island!

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

