Gratitude 10June14 Aging and Such

via pinterest.com

via pinterest.com

I’m getting old. No, I am maturing. My body is changing. I am not sure how I feel about that. Other, than, well there’s nothing to be done to stop the process. I am softer, curvier, everything is a bit more south. Going through my summer wardrobe I caught myself thinking “Are these shorts age appropriate?” On Pinterest I searched for “older” women short hair cuts. Having grayed prematurely in my 40’s, and deciding to stop coloring a few years ago, my silver hair has been an adjustment. A glimpse in the mirror now and again still has me saying out loud “What the hell?”

I understand the visceral emotions attached to these changes. Just as I know the importance of focus on being as healthy as I can, has become an intricate part of my daily life and routine. Miuccia Prada said “Women always try to tame themselves as they get older, but the ones who look best are often a bit wilder.” With that in mind, I am determined to hang on to what adds a bit of spice to my life. Aging, it’s part of life and requires acceptance. I’m just not quite ready, yet.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • The privilege of aging
  • The discovery on an applesauce peanut butter smoothie
  • A very busy day ahead, indeed

Wish you an exceptional day.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

