Gratitude 09May14 “Well, When I” Mentality

As hard as I try, I easily fall into a “Well. when I” mentality. It is a self limiting type of thinking that keeps you in your own bondage. We are all guilty of it at some time or another in our lives. When I hear those words come into my thinking, I am learning to push back with a “I am going to” mentality. Here are a few I ruminate over often.

Paris sunset via Pinterest.com

Paris sunset via Pinterest.com

Well, when I pay off my car I will start saving for that dream trip to France. Well, when I get to my goal weight I will buy a pair of jeans that fit me perfectly. Well, when I have not had any dark depression days for a month I will make a commitment to volunteer at the library. Well, when I become the person I think I should be, I will reach out to others.

For me, “Well, when I” never seems to become reality. I keep moving the bar and the goal remains out of reach. Life gets in the way and shit happens.  I recently met with a financial planner. He said my biggest mistake was not paying myself first.  And so it seems with my life. I more often than not don’t put myself ahead of all the rest.

I recent wrote a blog about the thought of “what’s the worst that could happen if ..” I took the above paragraph of my “Well, when I” examples and have taken action. I started a Pinterest board focused on France and there is always the hotel in Vegas! This month my budget includes a Laura money line. Yesterday I filled out a volunteer form at the library. It’s a start. I am not sure what the solution is to stop the “Well, when I” mentality. Maybe just challenging it is the first step.

Today I am thankful for:

  • Spending time with a friend this afternoon
  • Looking out my window at the new green buds on the trees
  • The soreness in my muscles from my workout yesterday

Have a relaxing weekend. If you hear yourself thinking “Well, when I” grab a piece a paperwork and write “I am going to” with a few ideas to achieve it.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

