Gratitude 30April14 Win big or go home

Can anyone tell me how we have arrived at the last day of April 2014 so quickly? This year has already been a whirlwind of activity for me. Mother Nature’s teasing us and jumping back and forth from “It’s still Winter, no it’s Spring” weather has added to that blur. You wake up and look out the window not sure what you’ll see! I was looking at my calendar making notes to make sure May doesn’t get away from me.

One of the best part of this time of year for me is the NBA Playoffs. Every year I patiently go through the season of 82 games in anticipation for this. Some years it is predictable who of the 30 NBA teams will be the final 2 to rise to the top. Then, there is a year like this when the underdogs and least expected rise to the challenge and come out to “Win big or go home.” It is a sad state of affairs that the recent drama of one individual team owner’s ignorance that has taken the focus off of the players and teams who the focus should be on. Last night the message rebounding across the NBA family was unified — We are one. Time to get the focus back on the game where it belongs.

Marilyn HeatBeing a die-hard Miami Heat fan, I am anticipating a triple-peat for them. There is nothing like watching that transfer of power on the floor in a split second or the swoosh as the ball goes through the net as the buzzer sounds. I am hoping for a quick resolution to the rest of bullshit so we can settle into some serious hoop action. With round one done, it is proof — it is going to be an exceptional 2014 play-off season.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • my bouquet of daffodils that are brightening my living room
  • congratulations to the Clippers on their win last night, despite, the drama
  • I have a bottle of Mambo wine waiting for me in my fridge
  • resilience and tenacious. two words in my mantra this week

It isn’t just a basketball metaphor to “Win big or go home,” it’s a life metaphor. There is no other way to live life. Despite the challenges and ups and downs, you give it your all or you’re wasting precious time. A final note .. Please join me in praying for the folks who are in the midst of the storms down south. My heart hurts for their loss.

affectionately yours, Laura

 

One thought on “Gratitude 30April14 Win big or go home

Leave a Reply

